About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us


2017 Kyle Macy Award

April 4, 2017


PHOENIX, AZ -- Creighton's Justin Patton is the recipient of the 2017 Kyle Macy award, which is presented annually to the nation’s top freshman

The Big East Freshman of the Year led Creighton in rebounds (6.2) and blocked shots (1.4) per game and was second on the team in points (12.9) per game. The second-team All-Big East selection also ranked second in the nation in field goal percentage (.676).

“Justin Patton had a phenomenal freshman campaign,” said CollegeInsider.com’s Angela Lento. “There were other freshman that had bigger numbers, but Justin’s presence on the floor helped Creighton to a history-making season.”

The native of Omaha, Neb. scored in double figures in 28 games this season, including four games with 20-plus. He was part of record-setting Creighton team, which established school records for points (2,864) and field goals (1.078) in a season.

The 1975 Indiana "Mr. Basketball" played his freshman season at Purdue University, averaging 13.8 points per game while leading the Boilermakers in free throws (85.9 percent for the season). He started in 25 of 27 games, helping them to a 16-11 season record.

After playing his freshman year at Purdue, Macy transferred to the University of Kentucky in 1976. He started every game for the Wildcats in 1977. A three-time All-America and three-time All-SEC player, Macy was a member of Kentucky's 1978 National Championship team. In his senior year of 1979-80, he became the first Kentucky player ever to be named consensus Southeastern Conference Player of the Year.


Bam Adebayo Kentucky
Bryce Aiken Harvard
Jarrett Allen Texas
Lonzo Ball UCLA
Kamar Baldwin Butler
Keith Braxton Saint Francis PA
Miles Bridges Michigan State
De’Monte Buckingham Richmond
Zach Collins Gonzaga
Jarron Cumberland Cincinnati
De'Aaron Fox Kentucky
Markelle Fultz Washington
Jonathan Isaac Florida State
Josh Jackson Kansas
Peter Kiss Quinnipiac
Anthony Lamb Vermont
T.J. Leaf UCLA
Lauri Markkanen Arizona
Malik Monk Kentucky
Josh Okogie Georgia Tech
Justin Patton Creighton
Landry Shamet Wichita State
Dennis Smith NC State
Jayson Tatum Duke
MaCio Teague UNC Asheville

NOTE: Due a tie in the voting there is one additional player on the Kyle Macy Freshman All-America Team.



Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace Award
Kay Yow Award
More Honors
All-Conference Honors
All-Decade Team
Mid-Major All Decade
Copyright © 2015 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.