About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us


2016 Kyle Macy Award

April 4, 2016


HOUSTON, TX  -- Duke’s Brandon Ingram is the recipient of the 2016 Kyle Macy award, which is presented annually to the nation’s top freshman

The ACC Freshman of the Year, Ingram averaged 17.3 points, 6.8 rebounds and 1.4 blocks this season. He shot 44.2 percent from the floor and 41.0 percent from three-point territory.

His average of 17.3 points per game this season was the third-highest among major-conference freshmen, trailing only Jamal Murray of Kentucky (20.1) and Ben Simmons of LSU (19.2). He led ACC freshmen in scoring (17.3), rebounds (6.8), three-point field goal percentage (.410) and double-doubles (8), while also ranking second among conference freshmen in blocks (1.4).

The 1975 Indiana "Mr. Basketball" played his freshman season at Purdue University, averaging 13.8 points per game while leading the Boilermakers in free throws (85.9 percent for the season). He started in 25 of 27 games, helping them to a 16-11 season record.

After playing his freshman year at Purdue, Macy transferred to the University of Kentucky in 1976. He started every game for the Wildcats in 1977. A three-time All-America and three-time All-SEC player, Macy was a member of Kentucky's 1978 National Championship team. In his senior year of 1979-80, he became the first Kentucky player ever to be named consensus Southeastern Conference Player of the Year.


Dwayne Bacon 6-7 Florida State
Malik Beasley 6-5 Florida State
Jarrell Brantley 6-7 Charleston
Jaylen Brown 6-7 California
Tookie Brown 5-11 Georgia Southern
Marquese Chriss 6-9 Washington
Bryant Crawford 6-3 Wake Forest
Mike Daum 6-9 South Dakota State
Tyler Davis 6-10 Texas A&M
Henry Ellenson 6-10 Marquette
Nick Emery 6-2 Brigham Young
Jawun Evans 6-0 Oklahoma State
Marcus Evans 6-2 Rice
Ethan Happ 6-9 Wisconsin
Brandon Ingram 6-9 Duke
John Konchar 6-4 IPFW
Dedric Lawson 6-8 Memphis
Nick Mayo 6-8 Eastern Kentucky
Markis McDuffie 6-8 Wichita State
Dejounte Murray 6-5 Washington
Jamal Murray 6-5 Kentucky
Derick Newton 6-7 Stetson
Ivan Rabb 6-11 California
Malachi Richardson 6-6 Syracuse
Ben Simmons 6-10 LSU
Dylan Smith 6-5 UNC Asheville
Diamond Stone 6-11 Maryland
Caleb Swanigan 6-9 Purdue
Edmond Sumner 6-5 Xavier
James Thompson IV 6-10 Eastern Michigan


Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace Award
Kay Yow Award
More Honors
All-Conference Honors
All-Decade Team
Mid-Major All Decade
Copyright © 2015 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.