About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us


2013 Kyle Macy Award

APRIL 5, 2013


ATLANTA GA, -- UNLV's Anthony Bennett is the recipient of the 2013 Kyle Macy Freshmen of the Year award.

"Anthony had a dominating year for the Rebels," said CollegeInsider.com co-founder Angela Lento. "His emergence helped UNLV to an oustanding season.

The Kyle Macy award is presented annually to the top freshman in Division I college basketball. The 1975 Indiana "Mr. Basketball" played his freshman season at Purdue University. Macy averaged 13.8 points a game as a freshman, while leading the Boilermakers in free throws, shooting .859 percent from the line on the season. He started in 25 of 27 games, helping them to a 16-11 season record.

After playing his freshman year at Purdue, Macy transferred to the University of Kentucky in 1976. He started every game for the Wildcats in 1977. A three-time All-America and three-time All-SEC player, Macy was a member of Kentucky's 1978 National Championship team. In his senior year of 1979-80, he became the first Kentucky player ever to be named consensus Southeastern Conference Player of the Year.


Kyle Anderson (UCLA)
Ryan Arcidiacono (Villanova)
Anthony Bennett (UNLV)
Sim Bhullar (New Mexico State)
John Brown (High Point)
Omar Calhoun (Connecticut)
Jahii Carson (Arizona State)
Semaj Christon (Xavier)
Damyean Dotson (Oregon)
Olivier Hanlan (Boston College)
Gary Harris (Michigan State)
Danuel House (Houston)
R.J. Hunter (Georgia State)
Ben McLemore (Kansas)
Shabazz Muhammad (UCLA)
Nerlens Noel (Kentucky)
Marcus Paige (North Carolina)
Glenn Robinson III (Michigan)
JaKarr Sampson (St. John’s)
Marcus Smart (Oklahoma State)
D’Vauntes Smith-Rivera (Georgetown)

Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace Award
Kay Yow Award
More Honors
All-Conference Honors
All-Decade Team
Mid-Major All Decade
Copyright © 2015 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.